Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Veterans, did you know?

Hard to believe but about 60% of Vets have virtually no knowledge of what they are entitled to due to their military service to the USA. The list is long and it takes professionals to guide Veterans to places to get the answers. I am not a professional, not even close. But I do know where to go, how to get started. I know the sooner the better. If you are a Vet from Iraq and or Afghanistan at this point in time you need to apply for every Veterans entitlement you can. These entitlements are not handouts, far from it. You gave your body to the Government to use and the Government cannot by Law take anything from its citizens without just compensation. Please, if you know a Vet or are a Vet get this started now. Sometimes Vets wait because they are okay now and can work and provide for their families. There will come a point in time as you age that the VA will be of great assistance to you, The answers are not always forthcoming. At times it takes forever to get an approval. At times it takes more that one application to get an approval. This is why it is so important to seek help from places that are like you, Veterans. The VFW, Foreign Legion, AMVETS, and others do a good job. Sometimes you hire an attorney to help you. There is no need to pay anyone to get the entitlements you earned in service to your country. Every State has a Veterans office almost in every County. Flagler has one. I would never recommend going there. Sal is a nice guy but I am of the personal opinion he has served his time and needs to move on. Since 1988 I have given power of attorney to the DAV. This started in Illinois. The DAV has a staff of all disabled Veterans who do the work for nothing. They really know how to make the system work for you. We all suspect the Government of "hiding" what we need to know in paragraph after paragraph of legal jargon. The DAV actually understands that Jargo